Search Death Records (United States)
- U.S. Newspapers, 50-State Full Search (1690-current)
- U.S. Obituaries, (1976-current)
- Newspaper Funeral Notices
Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke County, Quebec
1101 Rue Hyatt
Sherbrooke, QC J1J 3T6, Canada
Elmwood Cemetery is owned and operated by "Elmwood Sherbrooke, Inc.”, a private non-profit organization.
From King Street West in downtown Sherbrooke, Quebec, take Blvd. Queen Victoria, and follow it until you reach Elgin Street. Make a left turn onto Elgin, followed by an immediate right turn onto Hyatt Street. The cemetery stretches along this short street.
Elmwood Cemetery was established in 1890, with its very first burial being that of Mr. John Woodward who died March 21, 1890. In 1910 an adjacent piece of land was purchased to increase the total area of the cemetery, and in 1916, a bridge was built over the ravine separating the two sections, allowing them to be conjoined.
Newspaper reports indicate that the old Union Cemetery, located on Belvedere Street, had grown up to brush, and it had become a hangout for young kids to smoke and drink.. The citizens of Sherbrooke had become concerned about this, and made the decision to move the bodies, and what was left of their headstones, to the Elmwood Cemetery.
Shortly after Elmwood Cemetery was established, this process was initiated, and for the most part, these bodies were re-interred in single lots, one beside the other, without any markers.
Elmwood Cemetery is one of the most picturesque cemeteries I have seen, with it's hilly terrain, wooded areas, and paved roads throughout. An Embellishment Fund allows lot owners to buy perpetual care and through it, the annual planting and maintenance of summer flowers, and shrubs, adds to the beauty of this cemetery.
A unique feature of Elmwood is its Crematorial Garden and Columbarium.
Many of the prominent English-speaking social and industrial developers are interred within this cemetery, and a walk through the grounds or a stroll along the cemetery's roads, constitutes a virtual history of the region.
Records published below were compiled by Joan Cruickshank during visits to the cemetery in the Fall of 2005 with final transcriptions made in October 2006. Updates with corrections and newer interments have been added to this over the years.
(*) Records marked by an asterisk refer to reinterments from the old Union Cemetery mentioned in the history above. The dates mentioned in these records are reinterment dates in Elmwood Cemetery, and not the original burial date in Union Cemetery. Any burial dates or names found in brackets [ ] also from the reinterment records.
- (CG) = Columbarium
- (CR) = from cemetery records
- b. = born
- bur. = buried
- d. = died
- d/o = daughter of
- h/o = husband of
- m. = married
- s/o = son of
- s/w = stone with/shared with (Columbarium)
- sss/w = shared surname stone with
- w/o = wife of